This Sunday, Cast Your Votes for “Iniciativa es México”

CTS-México was chosen as a top 25 finalist in the Iniciativa es México project, which aims to re-organize public transport in Mexican cities. Photo by EMBARQ.

Iniciativa es México (IMx) is a movement that recognizes the power of collaboration in transforming ideas into realities. Originally started in 2010, the project is an online space where more than 47 million Mexican citizens can show their willingness to transform Mexico by voting on projects and ideas that can have a real impact on their daily lives.

The Center for Sustainable Transport in Mexico (CTS-México), a member of the EMBARQ global network (the producer of this blog), is among the top 25 finalists in this year’s competition. The project submitted by CTS-México, “Transformando al Transporte Público,” aims to re-organize public transport and improve quality of life in Mexican cities. CTS-México encourages the development of public policies for sustainable transportation to improve air quality, reduce travel time and improve road safety. The center’s work has contributed to high-profile successes like the formation of public-private partnerships to launch public transit projects, such as Mexico City’s Metrobus, and the establishment of a federal program, known as PROTRAM, that funds transportation projects.

Vote for CTS-México here by registering on the website and selecting Adriana Lobo, the director of CTS-México.

For our friends and supporters around the EMBARQ network, please refer to these dates and times of voting:

Washington, D.C. and Peru: October 2, 11:30 p.m. – 1:00 a.m.
Brazil: October 3, 1:30 a.m. – 3:00 a.m.
India: October 3, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Turkey: October 3, 6:30 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.

About IMx:

IMx began in the wake of the Bicentennial of Independence and Centennial of the Revolution in Mexico. The project inspired 40 electronic and print media outlets to unite with the intention to celebrate the dynamism and the growing enterprise in Mexico. This assembly of media outlets called on civil society, private companies, academic institutions and citizens to create and vote on ideas and social action projects. These ideas and projects fall into one of five thematic categories: quality of life, community development, environment, governance and accountability; and, justice and human rights.

To date, Iniciativa es México has brought over 60 media outlets to instigate a social transformation in Mexico. The project also mobilized two million people in 2010 through its website and provided 58.5 million pesos (US$4 million) to 50 social initiatives. More impressively, the federal government doubled the amount of funds awarded through the project, which helped the formation of a new partnership between private, public and social groups.

Print Friendly